the whole you project

Finding Your Balance: Mind, Body and Spirit

The Funny Thing About Failure

5 Comments

Nobody wakes up in the morning saying, “You know what? I’m gonna fail today”.  But sometimes, even our best laid plans are not always full-proof.  Case in point:  I recently started a plan to exercise regularly, eat right and lose weight.  My resolve was clear, focused, and on point.  I lost 3 pounds in 14 days and was on a roll.  Then came sinful temptation in the form a  red velvet cake.  I choked…I caved in…I ate.  There I was, stumbling back toward that abyss of sugary madness that once held me captive– followed by a dramatic Florida Evans moment:  “Damn, damn, damn!”

The damage was done. I had once again failed at my attempt to stick to the plan.

As I began to pick up the pieces of my latest weight loss debacle, I had what drug addicts and alcoholics refer to as ‘a moment of clarity’.  I began to take a closer look at not only WHY I failed this time, but HOW I failed.  I started out so strong. What happened?

1)  I realized that the temptation was offered after a stressful day at work.

2)  I didn’t have one of my healthier alternatives to snack on instead.

3)  My husband went back for more, so I did too–twice.

4)  I put too much pressure on myself to go cold turkey.

As the pattern emerged, I also noticed that after not eating sweets for two weeks that I got a major sugar rush followed by a major energy crash.  I guess I had grown accustom to that lethargic feeling, but the 14-day sugar hiatus made me aware of what I was actually doing to my body.  That’s when the light bulb came on.  Could it be that in the midst of my failure, I have found the seeds for  my success?   In that instant, I not only sized up my opponent, but found a few tricks to shut it down the next time it rears its ugly head:

  • I know now  that junk food is not a stress reliever– in the end, I felt worse.
  • It’s important to keep a variety healthy snacks in my purse, in my desk and at the house for those weak moments.
  • Moderation trumps deprivation.  Knowing that I can have a taste now and then is better than lusting after someone else’s portion and over-indulging.

I feel like I’ve taken a step forward even in this failed attempt.  But a lesson learned from failure is a lesson toward success.  Funny how things work sometimes, isn’t it?

Thanks for letting me share with you, and as always, enjoy the balance of your day.

Andrea

Author: aeperry

Female. Happily married. No kids or pets. Living in Tennessee. Background in radio and television. Creative, intuitive and always looking for a new project to sink my teeth into.

5 thoughts on “The Funny Thing About Failure

  1. Pingback: The Funny Thing About Failure « love peace and poetry

  2. Pingback: The Funny Thing About Failure « love peace and poetry

  3. Thank you for sharing your struggle with us. It is something that we all face when we are trying to change our lifestyle. I committed to going to the gym every day after work. My work schedule changed and the first week it just seemed like a hassle. I missed going, I wanted to go, but what’s one day missed, right? Or two? Three? I’ll start next week. Yeah. It is important to know your triggers and I’m happy you identified yours (and probably some other people’s as well). Happy lifestyle changing.

  4. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!! So true….lessons can be learned in failure. I just read a great quote the other day…it read “failure in not whether you win or lose…it’s not trying. ” The one thing I have learned on this go round of being healthy….simple words spoken I think by Churchill? (I could be wrong) “NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER GIVE UP” ! I will not quit this time….EVER! keep pushing girl. love ya!

  5. This certainly had me laughing! But oh how I true I know it to be!!!! Any lifestyle change will be surely met with challenges but we have the power to overcome! So when we fall off the wagon, hopefully, we’ve somehow learned in falling how to quickly get back up!! So hang in there Sistergirl!!! You can do it!!!!

Leave a Reply

